Explaining Asexuality and Aromanticism

My previous post mentions asexuality quite a lot, and I figured that I’d explain it for those who may not necessarily understand. What I didn’t mention in that post was aromanticism, and I’ve found the two are quite often confused, so I’ll explain that as well.

Asexuality = a lack of sexual feelings, interest or attraction.

Asexuality is known as an umbrella term. Under it are many different forms of asexuality. These include:

  • Grey-A: occasional sexual interest or attraction (this includes many other sexualities like grey-romantic, demiromantic, demisexual or semisexual)
  • Sex-indifferent asexuals: people who don’t partake in sexual activities, but who aren’t disgusted by it.
  • Sex-averse asexuals: people who find the topic of sex unappealing (there are varying levels of this, I’d suggest doing further research if you want to know more)

I personally fall into the category of sex-indifferent asexuals.  I’m okay with talking about sex and stuff, but I would never partake in things like that. However, this does depend on the person. Again,  if you want a more in-depth explanation of this, I’d suggest doing more research.

Aromanticism = a lack of romantic feelings, interest or attraction.

This is very different to asexuality, as it refers to romantic rather than sexual feelings. Obviously, you can be asexual and not aromantic, or the other way round, or you could be both. It all depends on the person. Aromantic is another umbrella term, but I’m personally unsure of what falls under it.

So, just in case you hadn’t guessed by now, I’m aromantic and asexual. And I care a lot about people understanding my community because in the world there is a lot of hate and misunderstanding.

Okay, so another really long and probably boring post.

Signing off – Tam

Leave a Reply

